The Shogun's Scroll

Literature
$9.95
Current Stock:
SKU:
9780804848947
Publisher:
Tuttle Publishing
ISBN:
9780804848947
Format:
Hardcover, Jacketed
Date Published:
05/30/2017
Illustrations:
Number of Pages:
128
Trim Size:
5 X 7 1/2

The Shogun's Scroll offers a look at the samurai strategies and ethics of medieval Japan distilled into language modern readers can relate to and follow.

In the tradition of The Art of War and The Book of Five Rings, this book offers timeless advice on success in war and life. Written in the voice of Hidetomo Nakadai, a late twelfth-century scholar and servant in the court of Minamoto Yoritomo—the first shogun of Japan and one of the world's most ruthless generals—this treatise can be used as a guide for personal growth and motivation.

The author draws on a lifetime of personal experiences with the philosophy of Japanese martial arts as well as countless historical sources to produce this profound work of docu-fiction. It is essential reading for those interested in martial arts, samurai, military history or Japanese history.


About the Author:
Stephen F. Kaufman, Hanshi, 10th Dan, holder of the highest rank attainable in the martial arts, is an acknowledged "Founding Father" of American Karate. He is also the founder of the widely recognized Dojo No Hebi School of the Snake. The profound insights made apparent in his interpretation of Musashi's Book of Five Rings have been widely acclaimed and have been translated into many languages. Along with his interpretation of Sun Tsu's Art of War, this volume, The Shogun's Scroll, goes further for those who should seek to master their own lives.