The Chinese Wonder Book (9780804846516)

Current Stock:
Tuttle Publishing
Date Published:
15 full-color illus
Number of Pages:
Trim Size:
8 1/2 X 11

The Chinese Wonder Book contains some of the most beloved Chinese folktales. These stories include:
  • The Golden Beetle or Why the Dog Hates the Cat
  • The Great Bell
  • The Strange Tale of Doctor Dog
  • The Talking Fish
  • And many other classics
Originally published in 1919, this book has thrilled and amused children and adults for generations, and served as an accessible introduction to Chinese folklore for countless readers.

Included with these fifteen magical Chinese fairy tales are Li Chu Tang's glorious, full-color illustrations original to the book's first edition, making this book a historical treasure. A new foreword by Sylvia Lin pays homage to the magic of Chinese folktales and adds its own enchantment to this classic children's book. This endearing collection of Chinese fables is sure to bring as much joy to today's children as it did to their grandparents.

About the Author:
Norman Hinsdale Pitman (1876-1925) taught at Chihli Province College in China from 1909-1912 before becoming a professor of English at Peking Teachers College. He was the author of several novels and short story collections, including The Lady Elect, A Chinese Christmas Tree, Chinese Playmates, and Chinese Fairy Tales.