Haruki Murakami Manga Stories 2 (9784805317679)

Current Stock:
Tuttle Publishing
Date Published:
full-color illustrations throughout

Haruki Murakami's best-loved stories finally in graphic novel form!

Haruki Murakami's novels, essays and short stories have sold millions of copies worldwide and been translated into scores of languages. Now for the first time, in this three-volume series, Murakami's best-loved stories are available in manga form in English.

With their trademark mix of realism and fantasy, centering around Murakami's signature themes of loss, remorse and confusion. The three stories in this volume are:

  • The Second Bakery Attack: A newlywed couple lie in bed, hungry. The man tells his wife about when he and a friend robbed a bakery and stole bread to feed themselves for two days. On hearing this story, the woman suggests they try the same thing again.
    " […] exemplifies Murakami's sense of the fragility of the ordinary world." —Kirkus Reviews

  • Samsa in Love: An extension of the tale of Gregor Samsa in Kafka's The Metamorphosis. The main character wakes up to find himself transformed into someone named Samsa, then falls in love with a hunchback woman who comes to fix the lock on his door.
    "Samsa in Love is part of a lineage, going back to the original publication of The Metamorphosis in 1915 and extending up to (and beyond?) the present day." —Los Angeles Times

  • Thailand: A middle-aged woman takes a break from her job as a doctor to go on holiday in Thailand. She learns from a spirit doctor that her sterile life and inability to forgive have created a rock in her gut, which will be all that remains of her after she is dead.
    "His characters are so persuasive, and the storytelling so spacious.… Murakami's crisp, accomplished stories…have great immediacy." —The Seattle Times

These new graphic versions of classic Murakami short stories will be devoured by his fans and will provide a new window onto his work for a new generation of readers not yet familiar with it!

**Recommended for readers ages 16+ due to mature themes and graphic content**

About the Author:
Haruki Murakami's first novel, Hear the Wind Sing, won the Gunzou Literature Prize in 1979. He is the author of many novels including Norwegian Wood, Sputnik Sweetheart and Kafka on the Shore. He has published three collections of short stories: The Elephant Vanishes, After the Quake and Blind Willow, Sleeping Woman. The most recent of his many international literary honors is the Jerusalem Prize, whose previous recipients include J. M. Coetzee, Milan Kundera and V. S. Naipaul. Murakami's work has been translated into more than fifty languages.

Jean-Christophe Deveney's comic book adaptations have been published in Italy, Spain, England, USA, Japan and Argentina. He organizes international projects and comics exhibitions. He taught scriptwriting for comics and animation for fifteen years.

PMGL illustrates magazines and underground comix, and publishes comic strips, short stories and feature comics. He also teaches human morphology and anatomy to animators and videogame artists. On the side he collects 45rpm records from the 70s and deejays under the nom de plume Koffi Gnato.